top of page

The French Press: How to make a better coffee.

Updated: Jun 11, 2020

The best way to start my day is a fresh cup of coffee. Over the years I have learned that making a good cup of coffee is truly an art form. To experience good coffee you must choose a method of making the coffee that brings out the best flavor. Most coffee connoisseurs will attest to that fact. My first experience with coffee was when I was younger. My mother was a coffee drinker and that is where I first learned about coffee. We used a drip machine at home to make coffee.

When I grew older I learned about other forms of making coffee. One method of brewing coffee called the pour-over I learned about from my favorite coffee shop- Colectivo. The other method is the French press. While I do enjoy both methods of making coffee my favorite is the French press. My favorite French press comes from Bodum.

I am going to explain to you why the French press method is better than the drip coffee maker and how they are different. The difference in quality and taste comes from how the coffee is brewed. Let me explain.

The first is the drip machine. We are all familiar with this method because it is the most commonly used method all over the world. In a drip machine, you measure out the water and fill the coffeemaker's water reservoir. The coffee grounds are then measured out according to how strong you want the coffee and how much coffee you are making. The coffee grounds are then placed in a paper or metal filter which is inside the filter basket and the coffee maker is turned on.



The flavor is in the coffee beans oils and placing the grounds in a paper filter allows much of the oils and flavor to be soaked up by the filter. The water also comes in contact with only a portion of the coffee grounds in the center of the filter while a majority of the coffee grounds remain untouched. The drip coffee machine filters the coffee grounds

The French press steeps ground coffee in the hot water. This allows all the ground coffee to be saturated and you get all the oil and flavor to be absorbed into the water. It gives you a different flavor than you get in a drip coffee maker. I generally allow the coffee grounds to soak in the hot water for 4 minutes before I put in the plunger. Even when the plunger is in the coffee grounds are still being saturated. Using French press you get all the flavor and no coffee grounds

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page