top of page

Pride Month

Happy Pride month everyone!! I realize that it is about halfway through Pride already, and I have not said posted anything about it. I felt compelled however to post something today. I felt that something needed to be said especially with everything that is going on. I usually do not talk about politics or things like it on here, but I felt that something needed to be said.


I was watching some episodes of Pose I felt compelled to say a few words about what this month means to me and all the rest of the LGBT community. I am also writing this to educate the young people in the LGBT community about the real reasons behind Pride Fest. What I am going to write from here on I am aiming at the members of the LGBT community.


I grew up in the 1980s during the time of the Reagan administration. I realize that HIV and Aids was an issue for the LGBT community long before this, but I knew nothing about it before Ryan White made national headlines. At this time I made no real connection to it because it did not hit home for me. I knew that I liked guys and all, but it was not until much later that I realized that it affects my community in a much larger sense.


I recently began to do research about the Stone Wall Riots and the origins of the Pride fest. I am not going to give you a history lesson here because that would take too long. I am, however, am I going to encourage you to actually study the history of how Pride fest began and appreciate what you have today as a community.


Pride began as a protest against the discrimination against the LGBT community by the police, government, and the world at large. Today and this month we must stand not only in the fight for equality for our own LGBT community, but also for the equality of our black brothers as sisters as well.


I want you to remember why we celebrate pride and never forget that it began as a protest and still remains a protest. During this pride month let us protest against inequality of all people regardless of their skin color, sex or sexual orientation.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page