top of page

Making A Difference On My Birthday

For my birthday this year instead of receiving gifts I decided to do something different. On my Facebook account I talk a lot about supporting our local businesses and giving back to our community. I wanted to put into action what I have been preaching.


With all the challenges that local businesses have been having with this pandemic and hearing about businesses closing their doors I did not want this to happen to our businesses here in Milwaukee. I decided for my birthday to start a fundraiser to help one of our local restaurants here in Milwaukee.


I have chosen to raise funds for Amilinda in downtown Milwaukee. The restaurant is located on 315 East Wisconsin Avenue. The food draws inspiration from Spanish and Portuguese foods. The restaurant is owned by Gregory and Orry Leon. Gregory runs the kitchen and can be seen every night while Orry manages the front.





Gregory is originally from Tulsa, Oklahoma and his family moved to his father's place of birth in Venezuela. He and his family came back to the United States in 1989. Shortly after that he began his culinary career. Gregory arrived in Milwaukee in 2012. In 2013 he and Gregory sold out their first pop up dinner in December 2013 and continued the popup through June 2014 and were offered. Eventually the restaurant opened at its present location in August 2015 and has been running since.


I have chosen Amilinda because it is a locally owned restaurant and not a food chain from some other state. The fundraiser is going on until June 1st. We have raised more than the goal, but are always willing to accept more donations for the restaurant. The fundraiser can be found at Amilinda Fund.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page