top of page

My First Travel Abroad Experience: What I Experienced and Learned From It

Updated: Jun 11, 2020

I love to travel especially when I get a chance to travel outside the United States. I have been able to learn quite a few different things and meet new people as well as try new food and see the world from a different perspective.


I want to share a few things that I have learned on my travels both in the United States and abroad. I am sharing these things with you in the hopes that you will not make the same mistakes that others have made in the past.


My first two trips abroad were both to see my husband and meet some of his family. I did not know what to expect because I have not flown abroad before. I realized that the flights would be 18 hours, so I came prepared and had a great time. Here are a few things that I learned while traveling.


1. Be Prepared for Long Flights and Layovers


Traveling overseas means that you will have to spend a great deal of time on an airplane and airports. I would suggest that you bring a good book or bring a Kindle if you read your books electronically. While we are on the subject of electronics remember to pack your charger in your carry on. What I pack in my carry on is covered in my post "Travelling Light: What Do I Pack In a Carry on Bag?"


2. Pack a Travel Charger


When you travel outside the country you will have to bring a travel charger with you in order to use the electricity in that country to charge your phone or other devices such as a tablet. Now I know you are wondering why you need a travel charger. Let me give you a short explanation. In the United States and Canada, they use lower voltage electricity than the rest of the world. Amazon has a great deal on travel chargers. The LENCENT USB Charger Plug, 4 USB International Travel Adapter Wall Charger is one such recommendation.


3. Cash or Credit?


When you travel abroad it is best to use your debit or credit card. I would suggest that you inform your bank that you are traveling outside your home country so that they are aware of any purchases and do not shut off your card. It is much easier to use a debit card in most places. However, on the chance that you need to withdraw from an ATM please withdraw it in the local currency. Just keep track of how much you take out. It is much easier to pay in the local currency than not. In Europe, this is quite easy since the Euro is accepted everywhere. Is Asian countries the local currency still is better.


4. When in Rome Do As the Romans Do


When you are in another country you should attempt to adhere to their common courtesies. For example, it is common for someone entering a business establishment to greet the first person that they see. To not do so would be considered rude. It is also my personal philosophy that one should learn about the culture and food. After all, why did you visit another country if you are not going to experience the culture and food? Yes, some of us go for a vacation, the beaches, and the scenery. I believe that you do not get the full experience if you do not eat as the locals do. After all, you can get McDonald's at home.


I hope that this gives you some helpful tips for your next trip overseas. Feel free to share this blog post and check out the rest of my blog. Ciao!!






12 views0 comments
bottom of page